Award of Excellence

The FCS Award of Excellence was created in response to our membership to recognize current practitioners in the field of fish culture and allied fields who provide fish for recreation, conservation, restoration, and the dinner table. Nominees for this award can be an individual, a group, or a facility/lab for their innovations that have helped to advance our scientific discipline. For more information on the award and how to nominate yourself or another, please see the Call for Nominations and Nomination Form.

Nominations may be submitted to the FCS Awards Committee Chair or President at any time. Award winners will be selected once/year by the Award of Excellence Sub-committee. Award winners receive a small cash reward and certificate.

Past Awardees


Rob Schmid, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department


Jim Bowker, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Edward Eleazer, Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife

Jack Christiansen, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service


Mike Mason, Iowa Department of Natural Resources

Eric Wagner, Utah Department of Fish and Game

Bonnie Johnson, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Dr. Aaron Barkoh, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Jim Bomfor, Duaine Hardie, Brian Martin, and Ray Billings, Freshwater Fisheries Society of British Columbia